PDA

View Full Version : Newb Questions

snyderguy
03-04-2010, 08:38 AM
Hey all, I just joined this forum and just had a couple of questions to ask.

I've been keeping 3 angelfish, 3 platy fish, a lace catfish, pleco, and guppy in a 20 gallon for over a year now, none of which have died or caught any diseases (except one platy has scoliosis), but I want to try discus. I've wanted them for a long time now. So I went out and got myself a 55 gallon tank which currently has 10 neon tetras and a pleco, all which seem to be doing just fine. The tank has been cycling for over a month now and I'm pretty sure it's either very close to done or done with its cycle. I've got a whisper ex70 HOB filter and a few live plants as well. The temp. is about 78 degrees F. KH is about moderate. GH is just above moderate. And there are no nitrites and very little nitrates. Question is... how will I know when my tank is ready for discus? Being a poor college student, I don't exactly want to order them from a website only to get them and have them die a week later and there's nowhere I can buy them around here within 2 hours. Any tips? Thanks!
- Josh

mjs020294
03-04-2010, 09:51 AM
The tank should be cycled after a month. I would raise the temperature to 82f, which is too warm for the Neons.

I know the first advice you will get around here is you need to quarantine Discus for four weeks, so a third tank is required.

snyderguy
03-04-2010, 12:05 PM
how exactly do you quarantine discus?

snyderguy
03-04-2010, 12:19 PM
ok, so I did some of my own research and I have a 10 gallon that I can quarantine them in but it all says "you should do this if you're introducing discus to already established discus." since i don't have any other discus, is this still necessary?

mjs020294
03-04-2010, 12:38 PM