PDA

View Full Version : Hi hello and question

Elizabth
03-15-2010, 12:02 AM
Hi! I'm Elizabeth and am new here. I am a biomedical researcher during the day, but that's boring so I'll get to the fish! I'm just getting into freshwater tanks. I've done saltwater for a long time and even worked in a fish store, but I haven't had a freshwater before.

I've been reading around here, and making plans for my tanks. Right now they're empty while I figure out what I want to do. I have a 100gal that I'll set up as a planted discus tank, but am also going to have a 30g bare bottom tank strictly for discus-related needs. My plan right now is to purchase ~5 discus juveniles and grow them out in the 30g with 80% water changes 2X/day. I have an additional 24g tank that I am planning on using for water aging, but if the 30g isn't enough room I can use both tanks and get a Brute to age the water in.

What do you all think? Does this sound like a good plan, and what modifications and other factors should I consider?

Eddie
03-15-2010, 06:23 AM
Hey there Elizabeth, nice to meet you and welcome to Simply! Sounds like you've got a good plan. I'd only recommend that you get 6 or 7 instead 5 juvies. Depending on the size of the juvies, they'll outgrow the 30 in no time. Might be a better idea to get them into a 55. Again, this all depends the age/size of the juvies.

All the best,

Eddie

keno
03-15-2010, 09:17 AM
I would agree, get 7 juvies and grow them out, sell a few if you dont want them to the LFS, and you'll make a nice profit :)

That 30g is fine to grow them out in if your going to keep up on water changes. When they are grown out you can put them in your 100g planted tank.

I wouldnt spilt them up, discus do better in large groups, they feel more secure and the urge to feed and out eat the others tends to keep them eating plenty of food.

tcyiu
03-15-2010, 03:43 PM
Welcome. I agree that 6-7 juveniles would be best.