PDA

View Full Version : Uh... White... Stuff???

rich_one
04-13-2010, 04:35 PM
I've been in this hobby for a long time... so I am not a newbie. yet, I see something I have never seen in any of my tanks.

Tank has been running about a month now. No fish... just water, driftwood, filter and light (normal flourescent... no fancy HO plant light).

I am getting discus this weekend... but I look in the tank, and there is white, cob-web like looking stuff on the driftwood and the filter intake... a little on the non-heated parts of the heater.

anyone have any idea what this stuff is? Should I be worried about it, before I go and spend a ton on discus this weekend?

I can post pics tonight, but really, just looks a lot like cobweb.

Thanks!

-Rich

underwaterforest
04-13-2010, 04:51 PM
Hopefully it isn't the white bacterial growth that I'm encountering Rich. So far I haven't been able to rid my tank of it and just posted a thread about it right before this one (Ozone). My white stringing "stuff" has been attacking my discus and so far two of my 9 fish are not eating and looking sickly.

Your growth maybe fine if you aren't noticing fish problems though. I have had many tanks in the past with white bacterial growths with no detriment to the fishes health, I believe they where an Aeromonas strain of Bacteria when I tried to key them out.

Edit:

Is the white growth from the driftwood? I have seen many pieces of the mopani wood have this white layer until my algae eater removes it, usually takes a week or so to get rid of it

rich_one
04-13-2010, 04:55 PM
Hmmm... well, no discus in this tank yet... but I am supposed to pick up a group from Hans on Sunday.

I wonder, now, if this is the driftwood... I can always take it out and boil it again... longer.

I'll get picks tonight, and see what everyone has to say. no way I'm buying $500 worth of fish, for this white crap to give me problems before I even get started! LOL...

-Rich

rich_one
04-13-2010, 04:55 PM