PDA

View Full Version : My fish are scared, why!

qb5171
04-13-2010, 04:43 PM
I'm very new to discuss and started out with 3 3"xdiscuss in 100gallon tank, for about 2 months my fish are so scared still, every time I walk up to the tank they are in horror, swim frantically and bump their body to the sides and eventually stay in the corner and turn very dark. Like I said I'm new to discuss but after 2 months I thought I figured these things out! I got the WC and BH recipe down good, and they are actually eating... when I'm not around! The only time the fish are relax and I can enjoy their beauty is at night when it's completely dark(except tank) and they can't see me or anyone around.

I eventually want to have 10 adult discuss but man these fish are driving me nut! Maybe because I have too few discuss for such a big tank, any ideas?

csarkar001
04-13-2010, 04:57 PM
if you throw a tiny amount of food into the tank each time you approach, eventually they will recognize you as the giant food god that you are.

also, my experience is that three is a bad number for discus.

waters10
04-13-2010, 05:00 PM
Yeah, you need more discus. With juvies specially, they feel much safer in a bigger group. Dither fish also helps to get them to feel safer.

deepflyball
04-13-2010, 05:03 PM
Discus do alot better in groups of at least 6. 100 GAL is a big tank for just 3 discus. Also i like to sit in front of my 110,and study them. They get used to you that way. If they only see you a water change time well they arent going to like you. Jerry

diamond_discus
04-13-2010, 05:21 PM
Discus do alot better in groups of at least 6. 100 GAL is a big tank for just 3 discus. Also i like to sit in front of my 110,and study them. They get used to you that way. If they only see you a water change time well they arent going to like you. Jerry

Agree ... a 100 gallon tank for 3 juv is not good .. You need a bigger group or put a tank divider.