PDA

View Full Version : why do some discus get peppered

gr8nguyen1
04-13-2010, 08:57 PM
i was just at my lfs buying some food, when i started to look at his discus selection. they all looked relatively healthy. i mean i'm no discus expert, but they were all very colorful. as i approached the tank none of them swam away scared or anything. but i did notice something strange. almost all his discus had peppering of some kind. little speckels of black dots covered their fins or sometimes the tips of their front mouth. why do discus pepper. and what can i do to prevent that from happening.

gr8nguyen1
04-13-2010, 10:20 PM
theres so much info to learn about discus i think my brain is gonna fry. i've read that 2 schools of thought have theories about peppering. one believes black backgrounds cause it. while the other one says its genetics especially in pigeon blood and theres nothing you can do. so does anyone know for sure?

Arjunpun
04-13-2010, 10:36 PM
These has been discussed many time before just search the forum

waters10
04-13-2010, 10:39 PM
theres so much info to learn about discus i think my brain is gonna fry. i've read that 2 schools of thought have theories about peppering. one believes black backgrounds cause it. while the other one says its genetics especially in pigeon blood and theres nothing you can do. so does anyone know for sure?
Genetics determine how much pepper a discus has. However, discus doesn't show them all the time. Dark background causes the discus to show the pepper it already has.

Wahter
04-13-2010, 11:18 PM
theres so much info to learn about discus i think my brain is gonna fry. i've read that 2 schools of thought have theories about peppering. one believes black backgrounds cause it. while the other one says its genetics especially in pigeon blood and theres nothing you can do.

Sure there is - don't buy a pigeon blood based discus! :D