PDA

View Full Version : new tank setup

birdog
04-17-2010, 02:18 AM
Hello all, I am new to discus and have only read about them for about a month and mostly from this site, but I've decided to give it a go with what I have read and hopefully some help from the community.

After changing my mind a few times, tank size will be 90 gal. with BB and couple pieces of driftwood (I would've liked sand or gravel but I want to keep things simple and as easy as possible).

I need advice on what type of filter to use, I was thinking canister like a fluval but I read reviews stating that canisters sometimes will fail and dump all the water from your tank into your floors, what about a hang on?

Also someone told me you have to cycle your tank with some fish, what kind? I have another tank with 6 platys, 1 male betta and 2 fem, 4 guppies, and 2 black mollies, can I use any number of them for cycling purposes?

The final goal is to have 8-9 discus(3 inch and grow them), with some rams and cardinals.

Thank you all in advance
David

nc0gnet0
04-17-2010, 08:55 AM
There are several ways to go about this, and we all have different methods, etc. I suggest rather than starting with a virgin tank and virgin filter and adding fish to "cycle" the tank, you decide on which filter you want and then add it in addition to the filter you have on your existing tank. Let in run for 3-4 weeks then move it over to your new tank, add whatever dither fish (rams and cardinals) you want to keep with your discus, let it run another week whie monitoring ammonia and nitrite leves and then add your discus.

nc0gnet0
04-17-2010, 09:06 AM
I need advice on what type of filter to use, I was thinking canister like a fluval but I read reviews stating that canisters sometimes will fail and dump all the water from your tank into your floors, what about a hang on?