PDA

View Full Version : New to discus.

hkrayingboy
04-19-2010, 10:44 PM
Hello. I begin reading about discus and i have become really interested in discus. I have 3 tank as of right now. I have a 30 , 55, and a 90 gallon tank. I was wondering if it is a good idea to raise 1 to 2 in discus and as they get bigger, i upgrade the tank. My final goal will be keep 8-9 discus in a planted 90 gallon tank. My question is how many baby discus should i begin with? what should i feed them. i could feed them multiple time as i am a college student and i have time to go by home and change water and feed them. i order a hydro 5 filter and also wondering if i should add more filter in the 30 gallon. Any hob or canister filter? Thanks. i want to get this right. Ill buy the discus from a local breeder when my tank is ready. Thanks

darkknight87
04-19-2010, 10:58 PM
Id say its always best to start off with 6 small ones, and upgrade them as they grow. Feeding a beefheart seafood mix is the best IMO, you just have to be able to change the water well.
I personally use HOB and Cannister, some others will tell you no need if you change the water as much as they recommend, I just know I do not have the time, so I have alot of filtration going on.

hkrayingboy
04-19-2010, 11:38 PM
Beef heart? should i buy pre made or make it myself? also, should i feed other thing that i can buy and just put it in the tank? should i buy 6 and put it in the 30 gallon or just skip to the 55? thanks

JaredP
04-20-2010, 01:04 AM
Id go with the 55, Having just gotten into discus not that long ago myself. I keep them in a barebottom 55, feeding them a mix of freeze dried black worms, some pellets.

Growing them out not only allows you to enter the hobby slightly cheaper, but gives you the chance to learn about their care.

waters10
04-20-2010, 10:04 AM