PDA

View Full Version : New To Discus, Help?

DiscusFreak123
05-03-2010, 04:53 PM
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to discus, and I really want to try them. They are so pretty and I love their docile kind-of personality. I've been keeping tropical fish for the past 5 years, and I started researching Discus about 6 months ago. I have a 29 gal tank (I know, very small), a canister filter rated for 40gal, and an air stone&pump. I currently have 1 Honey Gourami in the tank by itself. I created a step-by-step plan for what I am going to do in order to get my tank ready for discus. I am going to re-cycle my tank, but this time add a Hydro-Sponge Filter for extra filtration and oxygen. I am definitely going BB, because it's so much easier. My plan is as follows:
1. Cycle for 4 weeks with BB tank and new sponge filter
2. Water Change, 50%
3. Add potted plants and driftwood
4. Cycle for another week
5. 25% WC
6. Add two discus
7. Continue with 20% WC every other day for 1 week
8. Add 2 more discus
9. Do WC, 20%, twice weekly after that
10. Enjoy!

I was wondering, is this good? When should I add the bristlenose Pleco? Is my WC schedule good? I read somewhere that you need a submersed horizontal heater, true?
Thanks in advance,
-Nico

Darrell Ward
05-03-2010, 05:15 PM
I don't think you need to recycle your tank. Only add driftwood. Add 4 small, juvie discus all at once from the same source. Change 50% every other day. Plan on a tank upgrade. Plecos aren't needed. It doesn't matter about the location of the heater. Good luck.

darkknight87
05-03-2010, 05:28 PM
I agree , only I wouldnt add 4, you really need at least 5-6. And yes, definately plan to upgrade tanks in a few months time.
The thing about the heater is if the fish are breeding, it can be bad for the fish to lay on a heater, and if the heater is vertical often they will, but otherwise the heater isnt an issue, just make sure it can maintain anywhere from 84-90 degrees.

Darrell Ward
05-03-2010, 05:38 PM