PDA

View Full Version : Collecting Trip in Iquitos, Peru

Ichthyology
05-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Hey you all. I am planning a collecting trip to Iquitos Peru. Any and all fishes that you collect will be shipped back to LAX (unless you have an import permit and then you can pay shipping to your airport). You pay your portion of the shipping costs. If shipping to LAX, only fish LEGAL IN CALIFORNIA will be shipped (that means no piranha or stingrays unless you ship them to yourself....as I am a college professor, I will not have fish shipped under my name that are illegal). Any proceeds from the trip will be donated to a brand new research institute in Iquitos devoted to the sustainable breeding of amazonian ornamental fishes. The cost of the trip is approx $950 which will include your hotel cost (a three star hotel...if you want first class accommodations that can be arranged but your cost will go up dramatically), your in country transportation, some food.

The date of the trip will be 25 September - 1 October.
There is no age limit//although I would like to communicate with parents if you are under 18. There are no timeshares in the area (I own two but nothing exists in Iquitos).

Breakdown of cost that are not covered with what you will be paying to me for the trip:
1. Your round trip airline ticket from your home to Iquitos = mine from LAX on Orbitz was $750
2. Your portion of the exportation costs (cargo and peruvian paperwork) = FIGURE $125 per box.
3. Dinner most nights....$5-$10 at most, depends on how much you eat most of the trips will day trips.... leave early in the morning to catch a boat to a location, then "fish" all day... be back by 7 or 8 PM... eat dinner. Everyone stays at the same hotel so it is up to everyone if we eat together (I have an apartment as I will be there for 2 months)