PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a Breeder

DiscusFreak123
05-08-2010, 07:04 AM
Hi again everyone! Now that I've narrowed down my tank choices, I need to decide where to get discus from. I live in north NJ where we have hard, high pH water. pH out of the tap is about 7.6-7.8, and the hardness is about 300 ppm. So, I decided I wanted to find a local breeder, so I can get some answers and maybe some discus that live in closer pH ranges to mine. So, I found this breeder, and they are located only about half an hour away, and their water is similar.
http://www.discusmadness.com/discus-FYI.html
If you scroll down to the water parameters section it tells you their growing tanks parameters. Now although the pH is lower, do you think I can acclimate them to my pH? It would be much easier for W/Cs.
Also, do they look reputable? I mean they do to me, but this is my first time with discus. Finally, I would be making an appointment there and buying the fish there instead of shipping, partially because its cheaper, and because I can choose which fish I want exactly.

Thanks in advance!
-Nico

calihawker
05-08-2010, 08:57 AM
They look to be allright by their website. If your ph is the same or a little higher than theirs, just float the bags to match temps then scoop them out and plop them right in and they'll be fine. It's when the new tanks ph is lower that you want to do a slow drip method of acclimating.

You should browse through here and learn to identify good healthy discus so when you go to get yours you'll know what to look for. I'm not that great at it but some other members I'm sure can give you good pointers.

Good luck Nico!

Keith Perkins
05-08-2010, 09:24 AM
...You should browse through here and learn to identify good healthy discus so when you go to get yours you'll know what to look for. I'm not that great at it but some other members I'm sure can give you good pointers.

Good luck Nico!