PDA

View Full Version : OK... I’ve gone BB now.

Colorado14erGuy
05-12-2010, 08:40 AM
I’ve been using a Vortex Diatom Filter after my water changes and the tank would look sparkling clean for a few days, but then would start getting a little cloudy. This bothered me.

Two days ago I when turning on the tank lights I spooked my biggest discus and noticed that he kicked up a cloud of gunk from the bottom of the tank as he turned and scooted away. It was then I decided to go BB.

It was a painful process, but I eventually got all the gravel out of my tank last night and after running the Diatom filter for a few hours, I now have a sparkling BB tank.

But now I’m able to see every dropping of poo. What’s the best way to remove the poo from a BB tank?

DiscusOnly
05-12-2010, 10:18 AM
vaccum everyday.

Going to BB tank is like switching out your carpet with hardwood floor.

Colorado14erGuy
05-12-2010, 10:49 AM
vlam: Please pardon my ignorance, I'm new to this hobby.
What do you use to vaccum?

DiscusOnly
05-12-2010, 11:10 AM
vlam: Please pardon my ignorance, I'm new to this hobby.
What do you use to vaccum?

You can use almost any type of gravel cleaner

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18377/si4403082/cl0/fluvaledgegravelcleaner

If you don't want to take out too much water, then get a 5/8" hose from your local Hardware and siphon it out into a 5gal bucket. The hardest part may be to start the siphon but you can always buy one of the siphon starter.

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18377/si1378859/cl0/siphonstarterbulb

srusso
05-12-2010, 11:57 AM
You can use almost any type of gravel cleaner

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18377/si4403082/cl0/fluvaledgegravelcleaner

If you don't want to take out too much water, then get a 5/8" hose from your local Hardware and siphon it out into a 5gal bucket. The hardest part may be to start the siphon but you can always buy one of the siphon starter.