PDA

View Full Version : 120 gal. biotope done......now what?

3dees
05-13-2010, 04:24 PM
my 120 gal (48x24x24) is done. school of lemon tetras and a bn pleco. I wanted something besides cardinals or rummynose tetras. I know it's not a true biotope but it's the way I planned the tank fron the start. comments are welcome. just pleasse don't suggest plants. there are some silvania natans and I'm waiting on some frogbit but that will be it for plants.
now for the confusing part. I think this tank screams wilds but being new to discus I don't want to set myself up to fail. I have been keeping aquariums for 25 years from high tech plantad to reef but never discus. what does everyone think? My ph is 7.6 and I don't want to mess with RO. I want a tank for show only. not interested in breeding. what does everyone think.

dbfzurowski
05-13-2010, 04:29 PM
do it man, discus are awesome fish!

srusso
05-13-2010, 05:07 PM
Lets see some pictures of that tank man!! Go for the discus, I am beginner also just started my first discus tank just over a month ago, I would go with full grown adults, these little guys are proving to be a lot of work... I am not sure wilds would do well in that pH but I will let someone else speak on that. If you are like me you want something "natural looking", I found what I was looking for by only getting one or two strains... the over all look of a schooling group of discus is lost with a mixed bag of discus IMO... If you don't want tetras, a lot of people have good luck with keeping apistos with disucs, they have loads of variations so you should be able to find something you are looking for... BUT yes go Discus, I bet you might find yourself looking into breeding once you have some... dont say never just yet. :D

3dees
05-13-2010, 05:18 PM
hope this works

kitykatfunkiehat
05-13-2010, 05:29 PM
Very pretty!!

Darrell Ward
05-13-2010, 06:03 PM