PDA

View Full Version : Guess I should introduce myself

cooksa
05-14-2010, 12:06 AM
Hello from Milwaukee, WI. I'm new to Discus owning. I found SimplyDiscus after doing a search trying to find a reason what I did wrong that my fish never really grew to adult size. All of my discus are from a "phishy" source. It seems I may be lucky in that all six are still alive after a year and a half.

My tank is a Marineland 60gal cube. I use a Rena XP3 canister filter and a Hydor inline heater. I have light colored not-quite-sand/not-quite-gravel on the bottom with one large piece of driftwood and three rocks that were used to hold the driftwood piece on the bottom of the tank before it was waterlogged. There were a bunch of plants in the tank as well, but an uncontrollable algae outbreak persuaded me to remove them.

On to the fish. :) I have two PBs, what looks to be a green something or another, and I believe three BDs. One of my PBs and one of the BDs are about 5". The rest are 4" and under. (My favorite of the lot is a tiny, malformed BD. His whole pelvic area is on one side of his body.) I also have a male betta, three tiny bristle nose plecos and a couple of trumpet snails. My 2nd tank is a 6gal Fluval Edge filled with cherry shrimp. Finally, I recently picked up a 40gal tank/stand combo from ebay for a fantastic deal. Not sure yet what I'm going to do with it, but the two largest discus seemed to have paired off. I might see if the eggs would survive the night if I were to move them into their own tank.

I suppose that's all I have for now. I've found the site to be extremely helpful, so thanks all for your contributions!

Stacey

Elite Aquaria
05-14-2010, 07:26 AM
Welcome to Simply

Eddie
05-14-2010, 08:09 AM
Nice to meet you Stacey and welcome to Simply!

All the best,

Eddie

dbfzurowski
05-14-2010, 11:41 AM
Welcome,
good luck with that 40g breeder :)

babers
05-14-2010, 01:04 PM