PDA

View Full Version : what do you do to prevet FLUKES?!?!!!!

grantbudd74
05-29-2010, 08:27 AM
So there has been a lot of people talking about flukes as of late including myself. So everyone what do you do to prevent the little B*****ds!

I have lost around 60 fry these past 10 days and sometimes I feel like jacking it all in and have display only tanks! I am new to beeding here so I am sure that all of you who do breed have experienced them...

Did you lose a lot of fish?
How did you treat them?
Did they come back?
What did you learn from having them?
What can you say to help us in our quest for less fry deaths?

Just a few questions as my local fish shop said if you breed discus you will get flukes and everyone has their own way to handle them. Not a real help and lord knows Eddie is a first class guy! Thanks mate :-)

Ok please share your info and experiences so maybe we can all learn something....

Thanks everyone

mmorris
05-29-2010, 10:05 AM
I wouldn't expect a die-off of 60 fry because of flukes. You might want to look into other possible causes. Several people suggested water quality to you before. Again, I do 80% 2x a day. I have to get up early in the am before work to get them fed and changed. What is your wc regime now? Are you wiping everything down daily? 50% daily is not, IMO, enough, particularly for people new to breeding. Flukes are a bugger, I know. You want to knock them out on the parents before you have fry but that's a challenge as well.

scottthomas
05-29-2010, 02:19 PM