PDA

View Full Version : Sick Fish..i think its Ich

NickB
05-29-2010, 10:53 PM
so im new to dicus and me and the owner of the aquarium i bought them from have been prepping my tank for a couple months now..its is fully cycled..but i think i made a mistake by cycleing the tank with gouramis and not a fishless cycle.

60 gal tank
ph-7.4-7.6
am. 00ppm
nitrites. 0
nitrates. 5

the fish have been in there for 3 days now, and my blue discus got really dark and started being really shy..but the other 3 have been perfectly happy. today i noticed a greyish mark on the blues side on a certain angle in the light also there looked like there were little bubbles on its fin.. then i noticed they all had it so i called the aquarium and asked about it and they said most likely it was ich.. everyone suggested heat treatment but i heard thats not the way to go..the owner gave me this product called nox-ich and said its was a really good product and he has been keeping healthy discus for 8 years. So i put the product in after i did a 25% water change with aged conditioned water. It says to treat for 3 days..

am i taking the right steps? or should there be further actions taken?

Eddie
05-29-2010, 11:07 PM
Never used nox-ich before but it appears to be Malachite Green and salt. Not a bad choice for the symptoms but you will be able to tell if the fish are improving. If after the treatment course (3 days), the fish are still displaying skin turbidity, I'd move to a Formalin & Malachite Green combo, like Quick Cure.

Make sure you keep the lights out when treating with Malachite Green. Keep us posted on the fish.

Eddie

Protestthehero
05-29-2010, 11:23 PM
i've never had ich with discus, but i've had several cases of ich with other tropical fish, for me cranking the heat and adding non-iodized salt works perfectly, but i dont know how that would go with discus. i've also used Quick cure before and it works as well

Eddie
05-29-2010, 11:25 PM