PDA

View Full Version : Albino's and I feel like a newbie

Pardal
06-20-2010, 04:46 PM
Hi everyone
First let me say I am not a newbie to discus and fish breeding.
I have bred sucesfully, BD, Brilliant Turq, Red Melons, Blood Pigeons and a couple of acidental weird crossing BDxBP I have partial sucess with a pair of
Blue Panda that look more like a White Butherfly :Dand then I transfer to Hawaii
and start a clean slate. and I make my match Albino's:angry:
I bought a beautiful pair of ABDt from kenny they turn out to be a true pair.
They have spawn 4 times the first two times they ate the eggs in the third day at the wriglers stage, the third time I put a grid to protect the eggs and
only a dozen of them hatch and although wriglers they never came free swimmig. The last time I wait a couple hours and went artificial` but they never became free swimming.
I attribute this to male being old, inbreeding genetics etc. but albino's they
they do exits! so it have to be a way. I have some good advise from Dale that I going to use next time around but I would like to hear from some
others experience breeders . Eddie & Vera what you think?:confused:
My water is
PH 6.2, KH 120, CHl 0, GH 75, NO2 0 NO3 0
Sincerely
Julian

NunoDinis
06-20-2010, 06:13 PM
Hi,

Well, i'm not Eddie nor Vera, but still i'm gonna write something on this post.
I'm Actualy breeding a pair of AlbinoYC with a red melon, and i've been reading a lot about albinos.
One of the thing's that i've read is related with the slime, albinos start to produce slime so the offspring can attach, later than other strains, that is one of the biggest problems.

People i know breed albinos with albinos intermediate, or with a brown discus, when they hatch, usually, people has a pair of other strains breeding at the same time, and exchange some fry's, between the couples.

You've got a very good post in the breeding section, its called "albino thinking tank".

Hope i could help you.
Best of luck.

Pardal
06-20-2010, 06:25 PM