PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new to Discus I have a few Question.

snowflake311
07-10-2010, 08:16 PM
HI I'm new here and new to Discus. I have been keeping fish for 14 years and keeping many kinds of SA cichlids for 3 years. I have always wanted to try Discus but so many people say they are so hard to care for.

Well a few days ago I did what you should not do. I ran out to my LFS and bought the one healthy discus they had. I got there right as they were taking the fish out of the Boxes. This guy never was in the LFS tank. He was active in the dirty yellow water. Looked good so I got him for $20 he is about 2.5" and some kind of red Pigeon.

He is in a 20 gal bare bottom he eats well love frozen bloodworms and a beefheart brine shrimp mix. I do Daily WC 40% He is not shy at all and acts like my severums swimming around comes over when I look at him. I love this little guy he is way better then I thought he would be.

SO my questions.
1. He will be an only Discus for a little while because I need to find homes for my Urau to make room. I would LOVE to have 6 discus in my 100 gal with my True parrot. I read discus should not be kept with larg cichlids. But I also read in my research that True parrots are offten found with Discus in the wild. My True parrot is a good fish never starts fights is about 5" right now. SO would 6 Discus with one large peacful cichlid work in a 5' 100 gal? The other option is set up my 80 Gal as a Discus tank.

2. I have a 36gal that I was thinking of useing as a Grow out tank for discus. How many can I keep in ther and for how long if I get 2" discus?

3. My Pigeon does not have any paterns on his body but does on his fins. Do they get thoes markings as they grow? Or if he does not have it now he will never? How do they color up do they I will post photos tonight of him.

Thanks guys I'm sure I will have more question.

Discus_1
07-10-2010, 08:45 PM
Hi snowflake! you might know me as balloons&KIllies in fishforums.net.

SO my questions.