PDA

View Full Version : are daily water changes needed??

Jennie
07-13-2010, 10:09 PM
since I'm very new to this discus keeping, every time I do a water change(50-80% daily)I wonder why exactly. Yes I know discus like clean water but what is the definition of dirty water for discus fish? Is it dirty looking, ammo, nitrites, nitrates? what is the cause of it exactly? frequent feedings, slime from discus?? My goal would be to change water less often. I'd like to go from 7 WC's a week to 3, so what does it take to achieve this?

Jennie
07-13-2010, 10:32 PM
and.. Ya'll can stop laughing now!

birdog
07-14-2010, 12:59 AM
Lol, no one wants to answer either because some want you to keep doing these daily WCs, which is to your discus' benefit BTW, or some could tell you that you can get away with 3-4 WCs a week with some large volume ones on the weekend, the latter would be weary to say something like that because of the backlash they might receive.
If you are planning to reduce the # of WCs, I would strongly advice on vaccuming the uneaten food and the poop everytime it collects.

Regards
David

Eddie
07-14-2010, 05:24 AM
There is one way to find out. ;)

Lillee
07-14-2010, 06:00 AM
I have one word for you my friend: Automation

It's something about total disolved solids. Nitrates and nitrites are only one chemical that can be detected with the breakdown of proteins but there are many others that aren't tested for. The fish spend a lot of time trying exist in water that is completely different to their natural habitat (10,000,000,000,000,000,000 gals or more of Amazonian peat filtered melted snow) and hence do not thrive to their full potential.

Closest thing we can do for them is to change their water once a day to fresh water to mimmick their natural habitat as close as possible.

Does that put things into perspective? :angel:

Eddie
07-14-2010, 06:32 AM
I have one word for you my friend: Automation