PDA

View Full Version : Please, please...

smartino
07-31-2010, 07:56 PM
To the group,

I am a newbie to Discus and currently have 2 high fin cobalt discus and one of them is just not eating for the last 5 days.

Previously the discus had white stringy looking poop coming out of him about an inch to an inch and a half. I treated with Metronidazole powder, putting 1/4 teaspoon per 20 gallons. I have a 50 gallon hex, so I went with a 1/2 teaspoon taking into account for rocks, plants, etc. I would then change 25% of the water, and treat again every 48 hours. I did 3 treatments and near the 3rd, the discus started taking Beefheart, so I thought great. Did a final 50% water change.

Now the discus is in the back of the tank and appears to be interested at times when I put food in, but never takes any. He/she is the smallest of the discus (I have 4 in total), and the other 3 eat very well (bloodworms, flakes, beefheart).

So did I stop the Metronidazole to early, or could this mean I need to do another water change?

The discus does not have any fungus on it from what I can tell, have not seen any poop (certainly no white). I would say he/she is a little darker than normal, but I do see the cobalt colors on the fin, so not totally black., just darker than normal. The dorsal is slightly clamped, but all other fins look great, no tears, or decay...The only other thing is he/she looks a little blotchy on the sides, but it appears internal rather than an external thing. Breathing looks normal.

Please, any thoughts on the best treatment?

thank you.

Steve

rave 2468
07-31-2010, 08:50 PM
Treating with metro I do 500mg per 10 gal and treat for 7 days, so according to what u did I think was under dosed, and the treatment was too short.

rave 2468
07-31-2010, 08:54 PM
Treating with metro I do 500mg per 10 gal and treat for 7 days, so according to what u did I think was under dosed, and the treatment was too short.
For got to mention you have to treat every 24 hours.

smartino