PDA

View Full Version : My setup- looking for some input- Peat

PatronFishMan
08-23-2010, 02:24 PM
Hi guys-
My name's Mike- I'm a new member here. I'm also new to the discus world, but I've been doing a boat-load of research trying to get everything right before I source a breeding pair. I'm hoping you guys can take a look at my setup and let me know if I'm on the right track.

The most notable thing I've been trying to do is get the water to the correct spec's for breeding. Treated with conditioner, my tap water is pH 7.5, with a total hardness of 150. I did some research and it seems that a hardness below 100 is necessary to get eggs to hatch properly. I saw that it is possible to lower hardness through peat, so that is what I have been experimenting with over the last couple days.

I have an old Marineland Penguin 350b filter with the add-on carteridges that are fillable with any organic media. I filled these cartridges with peat from Home Depot- after 3 hours, my pH shot down to 6.5 and my Total Hardness is at 75. These numbers sound ok, correct? I continued to run the peat filter for an additional day, and my pH shot down just a tad bit lower than 6.5

Basically, my setup consists of (2) 29 gallon tanks, stacked as seen below. The tank on the bottom will be used to prep and age the water, and the tank above will be for the breeding. My plan is to run the peat filter on the bottom tank to get the water quality correct before adding it to the breeding pair. I'm purchasing a Mag Pump 500 water pump to place in the bottom tank for transferring the water to the other tank. Also, I'm sourcing a sponge filter for the top tank. My water temps are at 83.

So what do you guys think? Thanks in advance
http://axepolish.tripod.com/Tanks1.JPG
http://axepolish.tripod.com/Tanks2.JPG

DiscusLoverJeff
08-23-2010, 02:45 PM
Hello and welcome!

I was recently introduced to this website as well to find out about discus and well, I can say, I am addicted to this place.