PDA

View Full Version : White sand and plants

DiscusBR
09-05-2010, 01:52 PM
Hi everyone,

I am going back to discus-keeping after a 15-year interruption and I have a question about substrate and plants. I am planning a 65 gallon planted tank with 5 wild discus. A lot of people in this forum prefer to use white pool filter sand instead of gravel and I like how tanks with white sand look. I have also read that while gravel is a dirt collector, dirt stays on top of white sand and it is therefore easier to clean the tank. However, I have also read that sand substrates can lead to “anoxic area formation” :confused:, with anaerobic sulfer eating bacterias that can have potentially deadly chemical effects for the fish. It seems that the best solution to that problem is to use a thinner layer of sand (about 2"). Needless to say, as a beginner I am quite lost with all this information :confused:. I have several questions: is it safe to use pool filter sand? It this type of substrate appropriate for plants? Will plants thrive in this type of substrate? If that is not the case, can I have white sand in some areas of the tank, with no plant, and have another type of substrate (which one is best?) in the areas where I will have plants?

Thanks in advance for your input.

yikesjason
09-05-2010, 02:29 PM
pool filter sand is coarse enough that you don't have to worry too much about anaerobic soil conditions. Especially with plants, as the roots do a lot of prevention.

There are not really any nutrients in sand like that. So heavy root feeders like crypts and swords can have a hard time. Fertilizers added to the water can help with most other plants. There are a few options though.

-Use the sand as a cap on a nutrient rich substrate like mineralized soil.
-Use root tabs to feed the root feeders.
-Use tank planters like these (http://ripariumsupply.com/store-tank-planters.html) from hydrophyte at Riparium Supply buried in the sand.

diveshooter
09-05-2010, 04:42 PM