PDA

View Full Version : Flourite: Sand vs Clay Gravel

JaVia
09-22-2010, 08:49 AM
Hey!

So I need some suggestions/opinions.
Currently in my planted tank I have a flourite red clay bottom. I am getting a new tank this week or next and I will be planting it also.
I saw a picture I LOVED which had the black sand on the bottom. I prefer to use flourite for my plants since I do not use Co2.

Or should I use possibly a black gravel for an inch or so them sand on top to help the roots? I would love suggestions. I am new to the planted tank work but I love it!

Right now I have a few crypts, swords, and I can not think of the other two, sorry I am sick at the moment. I heard swords do not to well with plain sand, but is the flourite sand any different.

So does anyone have pros or cons, suggestions, or experiences?

The tanK I am looking at is a 65 gallon tall tank if that helps to work off.

Altum Nut
09-22-2010, 09:07 AM
Hey Jen,

I'm not one to offer technical advise...The plants you currently have will be fine with sand. If you are keeping Discus, the sand is better as it will not allow uneaten foods or fish feces to settle in gravel making it easier to clean. With the sand...you would have to add root fert tabs. I never heard of Flourite Sand.
If I know better...black sand is actually quartz (3-M) which may alter your ph.
Other more experienced plant keepers may step in as well.
Good luck with your decision,

...Ralph

JaVia
09-22-2010, 05:52 PM
I wasnt sure if I should put maybe an inch or less of gravel so that the roots are not so compacted them put about 2 - 3 inches of sand in.... I have no clue. I am just hoping for advice. And how easy is sand to clean (vacuum)?

Thanks

This is the stuff I was looking at.
http://www.seachem.com/Products/product_pages/FlouriteBlackSand.html

Seachem Flourite Black Sand - 7 kg - 15.4 lb.