PDA

View Full Version : NEW TO WILD DISCUS- basic questions

mattjm1121
09-28-2010, 03:56 PM
Hello everyone,
As the title implies, I am new to wild discus and I am planning a large biotope tank (not yet decided on which wilds).

I have a 46 gal planted tank with domestic discus strains. I don't use RO water and I get away with 35-40 % water changes every 5 days or so.

With my plan for a large discus biotope, I just wanted to know what would be the the greatest changes I would need to make to my maintenance and care routine.

I have heard many opinions regarding RO water, water change routines, an filtration methods but now I'm looking for information and advice from experienced aquarists.

I intend to buy wild discus which have been fully quarantined and adjusted to aquarium living, not directly from the wild.

I am open to all and any advice and I look forward to hearing from everyone.

Larry Bugg
09-28-2010, 05:03 PM
I got my first wild discus about a year ago. I have treated them no differently than my domestics. Of course, Atlanta and the surrounding metro area's water is pretty much ideal for discus. I have a Heckel/Uatuma Blue pair that have about 35 six week old fry that are doing excellent. Same food, same water, same maintenance. Absolutely nothing different.

mattjm1121
09-29-2010, 02:26 PM
I got my first wild discus about a year ago. I have treated them no differently than my domestics. Of course, Atlanta and the surrounding metro area's water is pretty much ideal for discus. I have a Heckel/Uatuma Blue pair that have about 35 six week old fry that are doing excellent. Same food, same water, same maintenance. Absolutely nothing different.

Ok thanks. What kind of filtration do you use? And what sort of water change and maintenance routine do you have?

Harriett
09-29-2010, 03:00 PM

I would love to see a pic of your pair, if possible!
Best regards,
Harriett

Larry Bugg
09-29-2010, 03:03 PM