PDA

View Full Version : Why Some of My Discus do not grow???

Fish Finatics
09-30-2010, 05:02 PM
I am relatively new to discus keeping and have four discus tanks. While some of my discus grow well, others never seem to grow. I am wondering what I am doing wrong.

I have a fry tank which is currently not in use for discus but the other three tanks are of concern. I feed a min. of once a day, often twice a day. I feed using cones, two or more per tank depending on the number of discus per that tank. In the mornings when the lights come on I feed Spectrum discus formula as the tiny pellets seems to work well in cones. At night I feed frozen foods such as spirulina brine shrimp or bloodworms. We water change two to three times a week 1/3 to 1/2 tank volumn at a time. My tanks are broken down according to discus size, none are overcrowded. My 55 gal. for example has 5, 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 inch discus normally. My 65 gallon has 6, 4 1/2 to 5 1/2 inch discus and my 75 has 6, 6+ inch discus. Large Eheim Pro series canister filters are used on all tanks in addition to using fast mechanical filtration. Our water is super soft (.90 KH and 3 GH with a very low pH (6.2). I do raise our hardness using RO right or Equilibrium since these are all planted tanks. I do not use RO water at all. Some of our discus grow like wildfire mainly in the 75 gal. but other do not seem to grow at all like in the 55 gal. growing out tank.

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :)

joshuajames
09-30-2010, 06:41 PM
grow them out in a bb. worked out better for me. and lots of beef heart and blood worms. some strains seem to grow faster then others also.

Tito
09-30-2010, 06:46 PM
grow them out in a bb. worked out better for me. and lots of beef heart and blood worms. some strains seem to grow faster then others also.

Specially the Beef heart. I used to argue against it because it's not what they naturally eat - but it will fatten them up!!