PDA

View Full Version : Please suggest succesful quarantine procedure

lithevantim
10-01-2010, 02:24 AM
Hello,

I am recieving 2 breeding pairs of discus next week and i really want the best for them, so i am after an easy to follow but really effective quarantine procedure in order to esure their health.

I am new to the quarantine procedure, so i will need to know what medications are useful and what doses to apply.

i will purchasing a 3 foot aquarium and using a cycled filter. I intend to quarantine them for upto 6 weeks.

I need as much advice as possible, no such thing as too much information. Tell me your experiencences and give me as many tips as you can.

Thanks guys. :)

Regards

Tim

Eddie
10-01-2010, 04:46 AM
Where are the fish coming from? Do you have other fish at the moment?

lithevantim
10-01-2010, 04:57 AM
Where are the fish coming from? Do you have other fish at the moment?

yes i have 4 juvenile discus at the moment.

The fish are coming from a man that has been collecting discus for many years and sadly he has finished the hobby and these are his best quality discus that he is finally parting with and selling to me.

Eddie
10-01-2010, 05:05 AM
Here is some good info

http://www.simplydiscus.com/library/disease_medications/general_info/quarantine_procedures.shtml

lithevantim
10-01-2010, 06:31 AM
whereabouts would i be able to find the treatments suggested in the article:

methylene blue

Praziquantel

Metronidazole

formalin

potassium permanganate

Flubendazole

Prazi

thanks

Eddie
10-01-2010, 06:40 AM
http://www.4fishstuff.com/index.php?cPath=61&osCsid=i2ksg5gmmj7pv0r9qi7raouh31