PDA

View Full Version : Stress bars on wilds

hironobu
10-27-2010, 11:04 PM
Hi I'm new to keeping wild discus. Last month I purchased five 3" Columbian Tefe greens (aka RSG if I'm not mistaken) from a LFS. As they get more familiar with the new environment I noticed the 9 beautiful black bars are fading in and out on couple of them. I know this happens with Turqs and SS as they mature so I did some research and it seems most grown wilds retain their signature stress bars.

So my question is do stress bars fade on wild Tefe greens as they mature?

p.s. I took some pictures but need to minimize them under 85 KB.

William Palumbo
10-27-2010, 11:58 PM
Stress bars on ALL Discus can fade, depending on mood...wilds are no different. They don't disappear, but can come and go depending on mood. Some Discus, and this happens a lot with wilds, can reverse their bars where they look lighter than the rest of their body...Bill

NanDiscus
10-28-2010, 03:32 AM
Some Discus, and this happens a lot with wilds, can reverse their bars where they look lighter than the rest of their body...Bill

You should see some of my Xingús. They literally invert their colours and the bars are bright golden while the rest of the body is just plain brown. This normally happens when two fish that are at the end of the pecking order fight each other. I never saw more dominant fish do this. The alpha male and the alpha female they both turn into barless, glittering gold colours to show their dominance over all the other fish, while the weakest of the males tends to show the fifth bar prominently when he's in the mood to show off to the two girls.

hironobu:
Stress bars are the communication tools for discus and the wilds are pretty good at using them. The older your fish get, the better communication skills they acquire and if you pay close attention to them, you can figure out quite a few things well before they'd become obvious.

Nandi

Kingdom Come Discus
10-28-2010, 03:35 AM