PDA

View Full Version : Parents still dark and super slimy days after fry removal...?

Melissa
11-21-2010, 02:39 AM
So it's been like 5-6 days since I separated my pair from 40+ fry... And both parents are still super dark and look like they have a very thick white layer of slime on their bodies. Is this normal???

Melissa
11-21-2010, 06:04 PM
:confused:

William Palumbo
11-21-2010, 06:09 PM
Not sure why they look like that. I had never seen that on my pairs after separation. A bit dark for a short while, but not for long. Can they still see the fry?...Bill

Melissa
11-21-2010, 06:16 PM
Yes they can.... hmm....

I thought it was weird they were still dark and slimey... Maybe a bit of salt next WC then... i'll wait and see what happens. they're still eating and such. Thanks for the response Bill! I'm a newbie to breeding... obviously LOL:)

jimg
11-21-2010, 06:46 PM
I have had this on a pair of golden leopards had fry. After a week of daily 50% wc's they didn't improve, I ended up loosing the male. I gave her a pp bath at 2ppm for 4 hrs then into 1 tbsp salt per 10 gal. with excellent results.

William Palumbo
11-21-2010, 06:51 PM
I have had parental behavior after fry separation, when the fry/parents were right next to each other...tho not to the extent you are experiencing. I guess seeing the fry still triggers feeding,(slime) as I know the fry would all congregate on the side of the tank next to the parents, trying to get back to them. If not...try Jim's advice, as you don't want to lose a breeder(s)...Bill

Melissa
11-21-2010, 07:37 PM
I have had parental behavior after fry separation, when the fry/parents were right next to each other...tho not to the extent you are experiencing. I guess seeing the fry still triggers feeding,(slime) as I know the fry would all congregate on the side of the tank next to the parents, trying to get back to them. If not...try Jim's advice, as you don't want to lose a breeder(s)...Bill