PDA

View Full Version : Simple start up questions

kuskus78
12-11-2010, 07:00 PM
I'm sure that most of these questions have been answered here, but would like to ask them. I have had cichlids for years and have had good luck with water and disease. I know that from reading discus can be challenging and difficult at times but would like to get into them. The question i have are basic and if links can be posted to different posts, that would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Tank: Thinking about a hexagon (18x22or24 inches tall) think its about 30-40 gals. What size do you recommend to be avg? Would like to have 2 different discus and three to four each of that type.

Filter: Not sure here i can buy a canister Magnum 350 or i have a wet/dry i can set-up?

Lights: White/Blue or just White? Dim or Bright? Watt per gallon?

Plants: Yes or No? If yes what types, something not over powering, I like the longer grass blade looking stuff? I'm very new to plants.

Drift Wood: Yes or No? Ideas?

Substrate: Gravel or Sand? How deep?

Water: How should my water test? PH,Temp, GH, KH, .....?

Thanks again.
John

Eddie
12-11-2010, 07:17 PM
Tank: Thinking about a hexagon (18x22or24 inches tall) think its about 30-40 gals. What size do you recommend to be avg? Would like to have 2 different discus and three to four each of that type. Skip the hex, it doesnt have a good footprint for discus. Discus prefer larger footprints to move about as a school.

Filter: Not sure here i can buy a canister Magnum 350 or i have a wet/dry i can set-up? You can get any filter you want from Kensfish.com. He is one of Simply's amazing sponsors.

Lights: White/Blue or just White? Dim or Bright? Watt per gallon? Depends on if you are going to have plants or not. If no, then .5-1 WPG is good and I find pink bulbs bring the fishes colors out best, such as the colormax bulbs.