PDA

View Full Version : Question on some crosses

William Palumbo
01-08-2011, 03:04 AM
Since I was having a hard time crossing my Altum SS's(Asian) with each other, I decided to cross them with "seasoned" breeders. Stendkers to be exact. I have the following spawns as of now:

AltumSS(M)xFlachen(F)
AltumSS(F)xBlue SS(German)(M)
AltumSS(F)xRed Scribblet(M)

Any ideas on what they will throw? The Altums by nature are a big, high bodied fish. I have a batch now of the first two crosses that are a bit larger than quarter size. The AltumSSxRed Scribblet, just went FS tonight. I can see out of the Flachen cross, which ones are SS's and which ones are not. I guess what I am wondering, would I get any high-bodied Red Scribblets and/or Flachens? Just wondering how dominant that Altum gene would be. Any ideas? Thanks...Bill

vss
01-08-2011, 04:33 AM
i've no experience but i guess it's not very dominant...or else we would easily see altum flora/SS similar to yours in size and shape somewhere else lately. it might improve the shape in general by such a cross though...I guess yours are the very best generation of altums, and of course they are really lucky to be raised by you. For the few cases of inbreeding altum floras that I've seen online, the offsprings are nice, but might not be as high body and large as yours.

Good luck!
Xiaofei :)

p.s. having a tankful of altum floras/SS like yours is always my dream :)

William Palumbo
01-08-2011, 10:22 AM
Thanks Xiaofei for the compliments! The quality of the AltumSS's I got from Mike were great, and that just makes raising them that much more easier. I guess we'll have to see how they turn out. Just not a lot of space for growing that many up...Bill

moik
01-08-2011, 12:17 PM