PDA

View Full Version : Where do I begin?

CajunAg
01-11-2011, 03:56 PM
Hello everyone! I am a relative newb when it comes to fishkeeping, I've had small tanks, <10gals, when I was younger but never anything elaborate. I'd like to get into the hobby again, and discus have caught my eye. I dream of a nice big 100+ gal setup, but I currently live in an apartment (planning to be a homeowner in 2-3 years), funds are a little tight, and I'm just plain worried I don't have the skills. To develop some skill, I was thinking of getting a small tank, say a 29 gallon w/ a canister filter, and stocking it with fish that have similar requirements as discus, minus the tank size. Examples are rams, rummy nose, apistos, etc. If I can keep such a setup going (water quality/feeding/illness/cleaning/good habits) while I save money for a house (and a dream tank!), that would seem like a good path to future discus ownership, right?

I appreciate any input or suggestions, thank you in advance!

Northwoods Discus
01-11-2011, 09:26 PM
That is a perfect idea for getting your feet wet, or your hands anyway. I have rams and have had them for years. They are a great tank mate and a lovely interesting fish to watch. I have bred the rams in college and again recently. I have been keeping discus for about 2 years now and have a batch of 2.5-3 inch blue juveniles from a pair that formed. It is a fun hobby that expands rapidly in your home. Read everything you can on this site there is a wealth of information that you can not easily put together from other sources. Good luck in your quest. I think starting small with the type of fish you mentioned is wise. When your ready for discus get good stock from a sponsor here.

dbfzurowski
01-11-2011, 10:07 PM
I would go straight for a 55 or 75 gal and get some discus.

ericatdallas
01-11-2011, 10:56 PM