PDA

View Full Version : New to discus- a few questions on my new tank... Please and Thank you!

tetranewbie
01-22-2011, 05:45 PM
Hi all- I'm rather new to discus (but not the aquarium hobby in general) and have a few questions on a tank I'm starting. It's a standard 90gal and I plan to have 6-8 discus as well as some cories and L-183s. Filters will be two 396g/hr Sun Sun (ebay special) but i've used them before and like them alot. Okay now for the questions...

1. I currently have 1- 300W Hydor Inline Heater. Is that enough? I plan to keep the tank at 82-84 and my house normally runs 72-74. Would another inline be a good idea?

2. Lighting- my plan/goal is to have a low-tech planted tank. Crypts, anubias, swords, vals... I'm thinking of a 2x54W T5-HO... but don't know much else.

3. Do I need to add extra air? I ask this because of the heat and lack of surface agitation with no HOB. I can get my hands on an in-line CO2 diffuser that I would just hook up to an air pump. Thoughts?

4. What cories work best for discus tanks? I already have sterbai's in another tank so would like to stay away from them.

5. Can Otos take discus temps? I haven't read much about that....

um, I think that's it for now. Thanks in advance!

ericatdallas
01-22-2011, 06:07 PM
Filters will be two 396g/hr Sun Sun (ebay special) but i've used them before and like them alot. Okay now for the questions...

Hmm... haven't ever heard of these, but a quick search got some positive reviews on them. I'll have to dig for more info...

1. I currently have 1- 300W Hydor Inline Heater. Is that enough? I plan to keep the tank at 82-84 and my house normally runs 72-74. Would another inline be a good idea?

I think you should have two... Reason 1) Backup 2) The harder the heater works, the sooner you need a #1 :) it also keeps the water temperature more even throughout the tank.