PDA

View Full Version : appearance...

Krelean
01-29-2011, 01:27 AM
Lets see, how do I word this? How does the discus body evolve as it grows? I've attached a few pics of the ones I just bought. I'm assuming they are far inferior in quality to some of what you are accustomed to having, but overall at 3.5 inches how do they really look from a "senior" discus owners perspective?
Will their snouts round out more and is this just how little juvi's look?

Any feedback on their appearance is appreciated. The fish are from Hans.

I'm very new to photography, so these photos are the best I could get :) Also, I've only had the fish a few days.

RWD HERO
01-29-2011, 01:30 AM
They look beautiful to me.

William Palumbo
01-29-2011, 02:21 AM
Did you get those directly from Hans, or thru a LFS that he sells to?...Bill

Melissa
01-29-2011, 07:41 AM
They're pretty cute looking pups! They look young to me.
As they grow a little older you will see them round out a little more (hopefully) and they will lose that footballish shape, their mouth/nose area wont be so pointy either. You never know what you're going to get when you buy a young discus... They already look so beautiful. I love the colors and patterns on these little ones. Thats another thing that evolves as a discus grows older... As babies they have virtually no pattern and it develops as they get older.

If you provide them with clean water and a quality diet they may grow up to be some real killer discus someday! The important thing is the water and food thing if you want them to grow out. Poor water quality and poor diet = stunted discus. A stunted discus will never grow to it's full potential. The body will stay small but you will see the eyes grow larger which is the tale tell sign of a stunted fish... You always look at the eyes. Some experts on here can look at a discus and judging by its eye size in relation to it's body they can tell you if it's probably stunted...