PDA

View Full Version : What is the real truth about discus breeding?

ChefChino
02-11-2011, 03:40 AM
I say what is the real truth about discus breeding but what I really mean is what is the acceptable truth to discus breeding. I've read so much on this forum and I'm learning everyday. I'm very new to discus keeping but I thought I was sure that my water parameters weren't "perfect" for breeding. To start off, I thought discus themselves would not tolerate high ph and hard water (high GH/Kh). I live in Houston TX and we have absolutely the worse water you can have in the USA. It comes out of the tap at about 7.5-8.5 with TDS reading at about 240ppm. I do regular wc with straight tap no aging about 50% twice a week but I also have a small bioload. I was certain from everything that I have read that even if the domestic discus can lay eggs in this environment they would not survive to the wiggler stage. Surprise! I have wigglers. I don't know yet how much further they will make it in a community tank but I'm thinking that the have a will to survive. With the all the great advice from this forum, I think we have left out one very important variable and that is the will to survive and procreate even under adverse conditions. I love my discus and I hope we can note that discus are pretty tough fish when they want to be or they can be as fickle as they want to be.

Chef

William Palumbo
02-11-2011, 10:35 AM