PDA

View Full Version : PPM water question

tripp
02-14-2011, 01:25 AM
I have a ppm meter to check the water the water coming out of the tap in the kitchen is 280 ppm however in the bathroom its about 500 ppm an sometimes a little rust comes out of that tap i do water changes in the bathroom tap for my new tank an fish from kenny i just reseaved. ive had them for 2 weeks an there doing great however im worried about longterm effects with the rust that comes out it is only a small amount should i be concerned

dbfzurowski
02-14-2011, 02:12 AM
Rust is everywhere, I dont even think about it

aalbina
02-14-2011, 10:03 AM
I'm no expert - but I do know that if heavy metals are leaching into your water from your pipes - you might need to have it analyzed at a lab to find out exactly what it is. If it's iron - then you want to know how much iron, if it's copper then you want to know how much copper. Both can kill your fish over time. I've done pretty extensive research on iron and copper effects. Lethal Concentration for 50% mortality rate (LC50) is pretty high for iron but no very high for copper. If I had that much disparity in TDS from one tap to the next - I would definitely pay the $50 to have the water tested for heavy metal content. Rust color can come from iron or manganese. Even a _little_ copper can effect sensory function in marine animals.

Adam

vera
02-14-2011, 10:07 AM
try to pass water through foam filter prior entering yr tank

Chad Hughes
02-14-2011, 10:54 AM
It sounds like you have a point of use problem. Sounds like the faucet may be going bad?

Can you tell us if the pipes to that faucet are copper? If so, replace the faucet. You should be fine. :D

Best wishes!

tripp
02-14-2011, 11:44 AM