PDA

View Full Version : Thank you

jdzzl03
02-17-2011, 06:32 PM
First and foremost I would like to say hello and thank you.

I am a long time reader and first time poster here at Simply Discus. I have been wanting to have a discus tank for years and am finally in a place to make that become a reality or so I thought until I came back to this site to do more research:). I have kept aquariums for over 20 years with success in breeding angels, african cichlids and just about everything else at one time or another. I recently moved and decided to try my hand at the King of the Aquarium.

My Background:
I have a 75g with a 350 magnum canister filter, two biowheels and a large sponge filter. My vision was to create a true community tank. I wanted cardinals and rummys with my Discus. My goal here is not to upset the traditional guard, I have done my homework. I know the benefits of the bb tanks, but I really prefer the sand and plants ect.. I have been working for two months to setup this tank. My plan was to have a school of around 30 tetras,some Sterbai corys and then 5-6 Discus. Before I came back to this forum I was planning on ordering from RFI at around the 2-3" size range. THANK YOU SD members for helping me avoid making this mistake. I have since revised my vision a bit. I now understand that I have little chance at success if I try to grow these juvies out myself and do not mind buying full grown adults. I also will be looking to purchase from Kenny as I am on the West Coast and everyone speaks very highly of him. My achilles heel with this entire setup is time. I travel frequently for work and do not have the ability to do the water changes. I am trying be honest with you and myself and realistically I can commit to doing one large water change weekly(80%). I might be able to squeeze in a smaller water change mid week if I am not traveling but at best I can do 1 large WC per week. I am willing to invest the money into this aquarium and have recently followed the