PDA

View Full Version : Needs new light/fixture recommendation for 55 gallon tank

godzen
02-21-2011, 01:14 PM
Hi,

I have the standard 55gal breeder tank that's 48" wide. It came with two removable fixture with two T8 18 watts flourescent. I'm relatively new to this hobby. These two lights are a little dim for viewing pleasure. I currently have no live plants. Just gravels, several logwood and a couple of fake plants. What do you recommend to bring out the colors in my discus and yet doesn't break the bank. I assume I will need to replace the fixture to hold the lights too or is that not necessary

Laborator
02-21-2011, 02:26 PM
do some research on a single bulb Hagen Glo t5 with the life glo bulb, looks great on mine!

scottishbloke
02-22-2011, 09:57 PM
do some research on a single bulb Hagen Glo t5 with the life glo bulb, looks great on mine!

+1. Just one of these Glo single-lamp fixtures with a T5HO Life-Glo bulb will also let you grow low-light plants like Anubias, Java Fern and even some Crypts in a 55g. If you want higher light plants, you might want to check out the double unit instead. Dump the lids and light fixtures that came with the tank and get yourself glass lids for the 55 also, you can get them cut to the exact size you need at any local glass shop for a minimal fee. I have this tank too and the lid/light fixtures are crap IMHO, got rid of mine years ago.

Colin

pepetj
02-23-2011, 12:25 AM
For non planted tank you could go with hardware store T8 lamps listed as daylight (5,500 to 6,700K). Another way of putting extra light is by replacing your lamps with Hagen's Power Glo T8 lamps (only needs replacement of the fluorescent tube).