PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good plan for keeping discus alive while on vacation?

NODAK1979
03-08-2011, 11:56 AM
I did a search and found some other threads about what to do while on vacation but advice was conflicting at times so...I just wanted to put my plan here and see if people think it'll work. I've never done this before, as this is our first vacation since getting our tank a few months ago.

We have 6 discus, about 4 to 4.5 inches each.

1. Feed heavily in the couple days leading up to leaving.
2. Big WC the night before leaving. 70% or more.
3. Buy an autofeeder and use that to feed while we're away.
4. Upon returning, pray that the heater or filter didn't go out. Then do a big WC again.

Is it that simple? I've never used an autofeeder...I know flake will work in them but that isn't their favorite food....do freeze dried bloodworms work as well?? Can I do a mix in there??

I know some people have said they can be starved for a while but...I'd really rather not. I may just set it up so they eat somewhat lightly....

keno
03-08-2011, 12:02 PM
How long are you going away for? Discus in the wild go for weeks/months without eating. I dont take the risk of using an autofeeder when Im gone, they just dont eat when Im gone away, just like in nature, somtimes the food just isnt there. Been doing it this way for 12 years when going on holidays, never had any problems.

John_Nicholson
03-08-2011, 12:17 PM
Unless you are going to be gone more than 10 days the best bet is to stop feeding 24 hours before you leave. Do a large WC right before you leave. Go enjoy your vacation and upon your return do a large WC and start feeding.

-john

Keith Perkins
03-08-2011, 12:26 PM
+1 I just got back from 5 days in CA without any food for adult discus and they were all just fine. I set up a lamp on a timer to attempt simulate when I normally turned their tank lights on and off.

Second Hand Pat
03-08-2011, 12:38 PM