PDA

View Full Version : need advice for picky juvies

Fishwhispererpam
03-22-2011, 09:07 PM
Hey Y'all,

I am new to SD but loving it. I've kept fish (mostly other cichlids) for a couple of years now. But have recently decided to keep these gorgeous round fish! So,,, am now on tank 3. I've silently learned so much from reading the old sticky's and threads. But have a couple of questions I can't find answers to...

1. I have 5 juvies, bought a month ago 2 1/3 to 3 inches. So how old does that make them about? How much on average should they grow in say... a month? And what age/size is considered adult?

2. I've tried feeding them a varied diet but they seem to only like the Freeze dried black worms from my lfs. Is this okay for these babies? I've read enough to know that they will grow out best with more options but I feel all the rest is just making my tank dirty.

Thanks for any help!

Pam

Eddie
03-22-2011, 11:16 PM
Hello and WELCOME!

1. I have 5 juvies, bought a month ago 2 1/3 to 3 inches. So how old does that make them about? Size generally isn't a good gauge on age since stunted fish can be 3 inches and be adults. How much on average should they grow in say... a month? This depends entirely on their age, juvies tend to grow faster and slow down as they reach adulthood. Typical or ideal growth rates should be around, 0-4 months (1 inch a month) and the growth will slow down with each preceeding month. And what age/size is considered adult? Discus begin to reach adulthood around 12 months, some faster, some slower.