PDA

View Full Version : New to discus

Jake1
03-26-2011, 10:40 AM
I am new to discus have had my for 3 weeks. I have 3 Blue Turq and 2 Red Turq. They are no bigger then 3 in right now. Have them in a 10 gal grow out doing 8 gal wc a day using ro with ro right. I have been feeding fbw and bh but they only eat the fbw. So I jest went out and got only fbw and pellet. They are doing good with that but last night when I put there food in they almost jumped out of the tank. Went to sleep not thanking much of it and this morning when I feed them they almost made it out this time! Any other time they are fine not trying to get out having fun swimming. Any ideas?

Skip
03-26-2011, 10:44 AM
:idea:get bigger tank..way too small

Jake1
03-26-2011, 10:49 AM
Got a 55 they will be going in I was only going to get 3 to do the grow out but the reds looked awesome so I broke down and got them

Skip
03-26-2011, 11:03 AM
how long has the 10 gallon being cycling? why are they on in the 55 now?

PS.. welcome to SD!

Keith Perkins
03-26-2011, 11:26 AM
:idea:get bigger tank..way too small

+1 Not sure that really has anything to do with them nearly jumping out of the tank when you go to feed them, but the old general rule of thumb is 10 gallons of water per adult discus. You're pushing the record for the most over populated tank in discus keeping history. It's only a matter of time before you permanently stunt your fish or worse keeping them in a 10 gallon tank.

Jake1
03-26-2011, 11:32 AM
The 10 has been up and going for 5 months or so. As far as not being in the 55 I still need to get it to my house clean it and set it up do all the fun stuff. I been told by alot of really good discus keepers in Wichita ks that they will be fine in a 10 gal for no more then 3 months. It does not seem like the size is stressing them out they swim and play all day.. I have been keeping reef tanks for the last 2 years.

rickztahone
03-26-2011, 11:33 AM