PDA

View Full Version : Starting to Begin

pattiesouls
03-28-2011, 11:00 AM
Hello Simply people, I am a newbie I guess you all would say to this wonderful world of discus fish. I only have a few tanks at the momemt a 55 gallon and a 29 gallon or 30 maybe it is. I don't have any discus yet and I say yet because I want to get on the right page as far as keeping these elegant fish, I'm starting to read everything I can on here so I won't say or ask anything stupid or dumb. One thing I'd start out by asking though is should I start with one strain or try a multiple of different kinds? I plan on putting them in my 55 to start and see if down the way I can get a bigger tank for them. Also how many should I start out with, the guy I know that breeds them has some around 3" but also has some smaller ones of different kinds. I've read on here that your always saying go with a person from here to buy fish but right now I can't afford discus and shippng. Sorry, for the long post but any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you all PattieS

Skip
03-28-2011, 11:11 AM
One thing I'd start out by asking though is should I start with one strain or try a multiple of different kinds?
based on what you said.. go with what the breeder has.. its up to you, whether you mix or one strain.. if you can get the 5-6 3" fish.. that would be a great way to start.. if you try to get smaller.. you tend to get larger numbers.. BUT THEY WILL GROW larger... and you end up like me.. with about 10 discus i need to get rid of..

pattie.. if you like the breeders fish... go for it... esp. if you can get a good price on them.. just read the STICKY on WHAT NOT TO BUY...

where do live.. there may be some members that are near you.. and will give you addtional options! :)

welcome to SD!

moon_knight1971
03-28-2011, 11:51 AM