PDA

View Full Version : amount of waterchange

Bud
04-03-2011, 10:53 AM
Just wondering the amount of water most members change on a daily basis.I do about 40% daily and I want their conditions optimal.Should I increase(water perams are good),because I know some people are doing like 80%daily.I have 2 white plastic 55 gal barrels that had degreaser in them and Ive been cleaning them for like 6months and theyve sat for 6 months,no trace smell or anything but I plan on getting barrel liners for them anyways,IF I should increase my volume of w/c.Oh and 6, 3-3.5" juvies in a 75gal with 5 feedings per day.What you pros think for grow out?(I think Im answering my own question) lol:confused:

TURQ64
04-03-2011, 12:22 PM
I think you DID answer most of your own q's!...more is better, but not if it outstretches your resources...

Skip
04-03-2011, 12:30 PM
why would you use barrel that had chemicals in them!?!!?!?!

look thru craigslist.. they have FOOD GRADE BARRELS for about $25 each.. ALL the time!! IHMO, don't use them...

broncofan27
04-03-2011, 12:49 PM
I can attest to what warlock said. Keep it simple. I have done the simple route and still I am having some issues. The less variables in the equation the easier it is to manage.

Bud
04-03-2011, 05:43 PM
mmm hmm thanx guys.@ warlock searched CL and there they were 20 barrels ,20$ apiece (liners are 14$ apiece..easy math.eh).never found em on there before,must of searched wrong.thanx again SD

Eddie
04-04-2011, 07:59 AM
100% every day, every tank. I'd do more depending on my stocking levels. That's just me though.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

kent1963
04-04-2011, 10:24 AM
[QUOTE=Eddie;748985]100% every day, every tank. I'd do more depending on my stocking levels. That's just me though.

How do you get them to tolerate this? My fish get extremely agitated if I lower their water to less then 4".

Lenin
04-04-2011, 11:58 AM
80% in the morning 80% at night on my growout tanks, the display tanks 40% every two days.