PDA

View Full Version : Question on Water PH??

coralreefer68
04-21-2011, 07:48 PM
Hello everyone, I am new to the Discus forums, just trying to get started with Discus.
I have not bought any Discus yet as I am worried about my PH. everything I have read so far in guides states needing a PH of 6-7 and I am not there with my tank. I have a 75gal, cycled for 6 weeks now and I have some black neon tetras, albino corys and 2 bristlenose plecos. My PH is staying right at 7.6-7.8, which I do not understand as my tap water ( well water in North Carolina ) is out of the tap at 7.0. I have done water change after water change and can not get it down. In my tank are 3 small live plants ( 1 sword and 2 wisteria ) and 4 large pieces of mopani drift wood as well as 4 pieces of sandstone (aprox 40pounds ). I took the sandstone out thinking this was the problem, left it out for a week and no change. I have peat moss in my filter and some under the gravel, no change. I have even gone as far as removing the 3inches of substrate and replacing it with a small "PH neutral" gravel....still no change....PH 7.6. Reading here in this forum I see multiple people stating that a PH like mine would be fine for Discus.....IS this true???? Everything else is fine in my tank...ammonia-0, Nitrates-0, Nitrites-0. Someone please help me with this...I have waited for 6 weeks now for Discus and I am going nuts thinking that I will never be able to own them because of my mysterious PH goblins.
By the way...I am 42, have not had a fish tank in 10 years, my last tank was a 90gal saltwater which I kept fine for 6 years ( other than my snowflake Moray climbing out 3times) and before that I had an African cichlid tank running in the 90 for 3 years.
All help appreciated and brutal honesty encouraged!

jimg
04-21-2011, 08:43 PM