PDA

View Full Version : Any helpful hints would be appreciated.

yetchy
05-09-2011, 12:09 AM
Hello everybody I am brand new to Discus. I have about 15 years aquarium experience including freshwater community, cichlids, and reef. I picked up my discus from Discus Hans(who was chosen from my reading this forum) who was excellent to work with and provided very healthy fish. My setup is as follows.

90 gallon
Coarse sand substrate
Driftwood
2 200 watt jagers
1 magnum 350 with bio wheels 1 liter ehfisubstrat pro prefiltered
1 fluidized bed with 4 pounds of sand prefiltered
1 modified emperor 400 with 3 liters of bio max no bypass mechanical filtration and Bio Wheels intact
8 shrimp and 6 snails
2 Cardinal Tetras for dither fish(not sure that this actually works, thus the small number)
8 3"+ Discus
cycled
Fake plants and some Dora and Diego decorations because my kids like them

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 7
PH 7-7.5
Temp 86

I was planning to do 20% to 30% water changes 2-3 times a week, more if the substrate has alot of left over food or feces. I was wondering if I could get away with feeding 2 times a day as opposed to the 4-5 that people are posting. Also I have the ability to lower the PH and monitor it, but would rather not due to the fact that the tap water comes out around 7.5.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

TwitchyDiscus
05-09-2011, 12:39 AM
PH is too high IMO.

m1nh0h
05-09-2011, 12:54 AM
u can keep discus at ph even around 8.0

Pardal
05-09-2011, 01:18 AM
If you want your fish to grow . I stronger suggest you feed them at least four times a day. and bare bottom. and the most important factor is daily water changes. You can get by with water changes 2 or 3 times a week in a mature planted aquarium.
but this is only good for adults. Believe me there is a lot of stunted fish around for newbies making this mistake even they been told.
Sounds hard but once you get the hang on it . Is not that hard, and you will be proud how your fish grow.