PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Tink
05-30-2011, 07:10 PM
Hi everyone, i am new to this and i love the beautiful world of discus keeping.
I have been trying to learn and keep discus now for all most a year and a half.
I have 2 four foot tanks and just set up a five foot for more discus,lol i am hooked.
would love some help on what you think about kh with discus.
This forum is great, still trying to learn as much as i can so i dont fail these beautiful kings of the aquarium.
Thankyou

wendy9722
05-30-2011, 07:12 PM
Welcome to the family

discusmurderer
05-30-2011, 07:32 PM
Hi, And welcome to you!, Nice to meet another adict of these beutifull fish, i am an adict of 20 yrs. Daryl is the name !
This forum is very helpfull and is full of everything u need to know. just do a search or ask any question. bye for now!

mmorris
05-30-2011, 08:20 PM
A kh of about 5 is good to keep the water buffered. If you don't have that, you can add baking soda (sodium bicarbonate). Watch your ph closely.

KEWX
05-30-2011, 08:26 PM
Welcome! Don't forget to post pictures when you get your discus.

discolicious
05-31-2011, 12:39 AM
Welcome.. so much to learn, and it never ends! If you get a chance, write something about yourself in the "introduce yourself" thread.

Tom

Tink
05-31-2011, 06:23 AM
Sorry to ask a silly question , but where do i introduce myself? i havent got the hang of this yet lol.

Elite Aquaria
05-31-2011, 07:57 AM
Tink,

Welcome to Simply Discus. I am a moderator here so feel free to contact me if you need any help. Introductions can be made in the general section or here is fine.

MSD
05-31-2011, 01:53 PM
Trying to buffer your water, or chasing PH, is a waste of time unless you are a breeder. Use your tap water if it isn't too extreme and acclimate the fish to your water. Dan can help you with all of this plus he sells amazing discus. Good luck.

Discus-Hans
05-31-2011, 02:18 PM