PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a new tank

nasomi
06-02-2011, 09:52 AM
I've set up my 75g for discus. White sand, 2 pieces of driftwood, 4 pieces of slate with java moss on it, heater set to 84F, filled 75% RO 25% tap. Ph is 8.2. I put in 10 ghost shrimp and 15 neon tetra's for the cycle. I am putting in an automatic overflow, and attaching my RO system to run 24/7 for constant water changes, and dose kh and gh as needed. However being I'm new to discus, I'd appreciate any input or heads up about problems I might encounter. Thanks.

Northwoods Discus
06-02-2011, 10:40 AM
The constant flow of R/O is OK but you will still need water changes unless the flow from the R/O is many times greater than 75gal/day The mixing of the water decreases the % change. You may want cardinals rather than neons, they handle the higher temp better. Get adults rather than trying to grow out in that type of setup. Good luck and welcome to Simply.
Bill

nasomi
06-02-2011, 11:41 AM
Thanks for the info. My RO system is 100 or 150gpd, i forget which. If I have it going around the clock, I would think that would be enough, wouldn't it? I was planning to go with mature discus, instead of trying to grow them.

Northwoods Discus
06-02-2011, 11:47 AM
The water change is diluted as it flows slowly. If you monitor parameters you will see if that is enough flow. May be better to use a storage barrel and do your changes all at once. Then you can reconstitute your minerals before the water goes into the tank. You may not need to use the R/O only. Some tap water can be mixed in to increase the minerals.

nasomi
06-02-2011, 01:24 PM