PDA

View Full Version : How Often Do You Lose Your Discus?

YSS
06-15-2011, 11:43 PM
I have been keeping discus for over5 years now. Killed a lot of discus over the years. Although some of you claim that keeping discus is not difficult, I think keeping discus is a lot of work and a lot more challenging than keeping other fish. So, I thought I do a quick poll. How often do you lose your discus? Now a days, I think I lose about 2 a year. I hope to do better down the road, but that's where I am now. How about other folks here?

Skip
06-15-2011, 11:56 PM
i have lost small juvies.. luckily my larger fish have done well :)

Keith Perkins
06-15-2011, 11:59 PM
I voted, excluded fry from my answer.

calihawker
06-16-2011, 01:19 AM
In the last 4+ years since I started keeping discus only 1. But I did have two jumpers as well, I don't gather that's the point of this thread though.

Steve

Melissa
06-16-2011, 01:28 AM
I voted, excluded fry from my answer.
+1

2075turner
06-16-2011, 01:51 AM
I would think it is hard to poll this as some have 1 tank, others have multiple. I have had mishaps that are beyond my control that have caused death....prime example the heater failure that boiled my fish on two different occasions, one while I was at the NADA convention and the other over a 14 hr time frame. Some things just happen in the aquarium world, same thing would have killed off any other tank as well.

Yes discus require more work and attention, but in my opinion well worth the work.

ericatdallas
06-16-2011, 01:56 AM
I'm going to abstain from voting until this "crisis" I'm having with my discus is over... see my post/thread (http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?89006-Ammonia-Nitrate-poisoning-Or-b-c-I-broke-QT-(yeah-I-know-better-but...)&highlight=nitrate+poisoning)in this sub-forum.

I've been overly confident about my discus and I made several mistakes all at once (I knew better too...) and now I may pay the price :(