PDA

View Full Version : ....

zchauvin
06-17-2011, 05:17 PM
Sand stuck to glass, sand in water column, gunk in enter column, crap all over tank and sand ect, gbr piping surface, canister filter and its hoses full of brown ****.... all of this within 2 minutes after a 65g wc on my 75g tank. Should I just give you guys super great deals and get rid of all this crap or does someone have some super good advise other than patience. Oh, and add .25 ammonia and nitrite readings to that too.

roundfishross
06-17-2011, 05:48 PM
get rid of tha dang sand!.....problem solved!

geodehunter
06-17-2011, 06:24 PM
Bare bottom tank. Works great for me and I'm a newbie.

Sean Buehrle
06-17-2011, 06:34 PM
Sand is sand, ever eat at the beach ? No matter how much you try it always gets in your food. The stuff looks nice but is a pain sometimes.

You have to clean the algae off walls every day or it builds up.

Dont like sand? Get rid of it at your next waterchange, suck it up and throw it out. Or just accept it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

discuspaul
06-17-2011, 11:55 PM
get rid of tha dang sand!.....problem solved!

Yes, I would syphon it out & get rid of it - I sure don't know what kind of sand it is that you got, but it's not behaving like any sand I've ever used. I've never had sand sticking/clinging to the glass, nor flying around in the water column ! (Are you running some kind of strong power bar/filter to do that ?)
Get some white silica pool filter sand from a pool/spa/hot tub supply store & be done with it.

Vee
06-18-2011, 01:29 AM
Keep the sand 1/4" and less...Use pool sand....put a sponge prefilter on your filter intake...

Darrell Ward
06-18-2011, 02:37 AM