PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

Squidward
06-20-2011, 04:48 PM
Hi All,

I have been keeping general tropicals particularly Angels & Oddballs for the past 3 years, and have decided that I now want to try Discus......if possible.

My water stats out of the tap are as follows:
KH = 15*
GH = 15*
PH = 7.4 (after 24 hours climbs up to 7.8 ish)

A few months ago, I wanted to try one of the fancy Plecs and someone there recommended Seachem PH/KH down. I have been using this for a few months and have brought down the KH to about 7* very slowly. But the PH has generally remained the same.

My tank is 240L with gravel, loads of wood (mainly branch type pieces) and very lightly planted.

So. The question is, can I keep Discus. Unortunately RO is not an option for me. So I have to go with what comes from the tap.
I was thinking of going for about 6 3 inch youngsters, as I am on a budget too.

Any advice most welcome.
Or is it not possible for me, and should I scrap the whole plan.
Thanks
Squidward

Skip
06-20-2011, 05:25 PM
welcome!!!

Squid..
this is what you do.. use the KISS Method (KEEP IT SIMPLE)

don't add any chemicals to modify the hardness/ph etc..
only use to remove chlorine/ammonia/chloramine..
and tap water will be fine.. get SAFE from SEACHEM (powder) treat the whole volume of TANK and filler up with water temp, by touch, as close to existing water temp..
remove as much as you want.. i go between 60-90% +...
you don't need to worry about aging water, if you can't or don't have the capablity yet..

Fresh Clean Water every Day.. will PREVENT MOST DISCUS PROBLEMS>. and will ELIMINATE MOST DISCUS PROBLEMS>>

there you go..
from you UNCLE SKIP!!!
thats all you need..

ps.. you do need a good sponge filter and heater.. its like magic!! PRESTO!!!!!
http://cdn.crushable.com/files/2011/03/Doug-Henning.jpg
you are now a DISCUS HOBBYIST!!

discuspaul
06-20-2011, 07:26 PM