PDA

View Full Version : Killer CL deal... What to do?

JustinKScott
06-23-2011, 10:52 AM
Ok I am relatively new to discus, I have one 3.5" turquoise now for 3mo. Also, I have a fully cycled 80g planted tank which i intend to dedicated for discus. My turq is lonely in that big tank, but is colorful, unafraid, and eating.

Here's the delema.. On CL, a guy is selling his whole flock of (I believe) 14 jack wattley adult discus. He has all different strains. (blue diamonds, reds, yellow, striped blue, red turquoise, cobalt, albino ,leopard)

He is trying to get out of the hobby. For the most part, no one else in this little town will buy discus. So when I contacted him, he offered $30/fish if I take them all.

Can my little 80g tank support 14 + 1 fish?

I eventually want to try my hand at breeding, and he said none are a proven pair... But he hasn't 'tried' to breed. Will I never be able to breed these fish?

Would I be nuts not to take the deal, and try to sell some off?

Northwoods Discus
06-23-2011, 10:55 AM
Depends on the quality of the 14 fish. If you want to breed you should get quality to start with. No way to know if it is a good deal without pics of the fish.
Bill Oh your gonna need a bigger tank.

DLock3d
06-23-2011, 10:56 AM
Your 80 gallon will have a hard time supporting that many discus. If the fish range in size and age I'd get another comparable tank and split them off that way. Assuming the fish are all healthy and look good, that's a killer deal. What's he doing with his tank(s)?

Altum Nut
06-23-2011, 11:21 AM
Your delema can be narrowed down. Ask questions...where he got them, how long has he had them, and can you see them before you commit.
I would take caution for someone to offer Wattley Discus for $30ea.
Maybe a dumb question...but what does CL stand for?
Good Luck,

...Ralph

JustinKScott
06-23-2011, 11:24 AM
My wife an I have been breeding Angels; so we have tons of tanks sitting about. All being cleaned though, none cycled.