PDA

View Full Version : stressed out?

omme
06-24-2011, 02:56 PM
hi, im new to the hobby so im hopping to get some info.

recently, 2 of my 4 juvi discus lays flat for couple of minutes but stands back up whenever i try to feed them.

i read somewhere that thats a sign of stress. im just wondering why my fishes are stress.

i bought them from a local aquarium. the name written on the tank was H.K discuss (hongkong) and they seem fine when i got them home. The stress sings began after 2 days of introducing them to the tank.

some additional info: (comment on anything you want. bad or not, i need information for future reference. all are welcome!)

inside my 55gal tank:

*a school of cardinal/neon tetra
*5 german blue rams/ 1 electric blue ram
*somewhat big stripped peacock eel
*2 hifin spotted pleco -still small
*8 apple snails/mystery snail
*3 bala shark- already moved them to another tank

list of my present and future problems:

*PH is constant on 7.6 (could be higher my test strips only goes up to 7.6)
**Driftwoods are added in hope to lower ph slowly. no effects as of now.
*i really really really want to change my gravel but i dont want to mess my established tank. still thinking of a way to change it without stressing the fish too much and still keep my main 55gl tank. NOTE: i want to convert my tank to a more natural set up. with live plants, soil, CO2. i know i would have to completely drain the tank to properly set this up.

any any suggestions will help me tremendously! does my plan of converting the tank even possible? will breeding, if my fish pairs up, will be possible? (got a separate tank), what fish should i take out? (beside the bala sharks), what fish should i get?, is it already crowded?, can i get more discus? (if so, could it be from a tank not labeled H.K.?) thanks in advance!

Northwoods Discus
06-24-2011, 03:24 PM